Andrea Duran
May 10, 2022

--

I live in the land of the fake and snobby -- Los Angeles, California. Everyone went from sweet talking ALL horror films to suddenly saying things like, "I only enjoy elevated horror from A24 films" as they apply beeswax to their curled mustaches and smoke organic mashmellow cigarettes with their pinky out.

I absolutely love and welcome all horror from random slasher films to psychological thrillers to horror films inundated with jump scares and trapped ghosts. But, yes, the over usage of "elevated" in the land of Hollywood and a sudden preference for it, makes it a cringeworthy buzzword applied to any horror film Hollywood hipsters deem as superior horror. Give me my jump scares and my bloodthirsty ghost possessed red-headed toy.

--

--

Andrea Duran

Writer | Self-Development | Mental Health | Addiction | Fiction | B.A. Eng/Pysch | Addiction Counselor | Certified Hot Mess | https://linktr.ee/dreabookjunkie