Andrea Duran
Jul 15, 2022

--

I'm a counselor too. Ironically, I had my first... umm... somewhat nutty reaction to another person who had triggered me a bit. I'm in recovery for addiction and this girl who was my age came at me after a meeting. Apparently, she'd seen my social media posts on addiction and couldn't see how I was an addict because, in her own words, I don't "look used up." Who would LIE about addiction? In the midst of 30+ strangers, she and I engaged in an argument. Two junkies in recovery - one a counselor and the other a grocery store clerk - screaming at each other over who was telling the truth. Needless to say, I did not control my reaction to the situation and I found myself engaging in old, unhealthy patterns. It was my own lesson too.

--

--

Andrea Duran

Writer | Self-Development | Mental Health | Addiction | Fiction | B.A. Eng/Pysch | Addiction Counselor | Certified Hot Mess | https://linktr.ee/dreabookjunkie